5 Worst Books I’ve Ever Read.

Having already shared my top 6 with you all, I thought it was only right to give you my worst 5. This is only my opinion of course, many people may think that these novels are the best things to have ever graced the literary world, so please don’t take my word as gospel!

Once again, these are in no particular order:

1. Middlemarch by George Eliot.

george-eliot-middlemarch

Middlemarch is listed as one of 100 books you should read before you die. Well I did it, it’s ticked off my list, but damn was it a waste of time. It’s the most boring book I’ve ever read. I find the story bland and very straightforward, there’s just nothing there for me.

2.  Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien.

LOTR_book_covers

Yes, I’m fully aware that this is a trilogy so I’m slightly cheating, but I just can’t stand them. It’s less about the story and more about the writing. I absolutely despise Tolkien’s way of writing fiction, there are so many footnotes/endnotes/appendices to the novels that you have no room whatsoever for your own interpretations. Every minor detail is explained for you which takes away the whole point – in my opinion – of reading a novel.

3. Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes.

look whos back .jpg

This novel has recently been adapted in a film, which I have no plans watching as I never actually finished the novel, I just couldn’t bring myself to read it. It’s a satirical novel about Hitler in present times. It wasn’t funny and each ‘joke’ made me cringe. I was actually disappointed that I didn’t enjoy it, it seemed so promising when I read the reviews. However, if satirical fiction about a historical figure in present day is your thing then maybe give it a go.

4. The Sorrows of Young Werther by Goethe.

Sorrows of werther

Another university read, this bildungsroman following Werther’s ‘unworthy’ life is completely and utterly insufferable. For a short novel, I have never read something so long. Werther himself is a whiney character who in short needs to get over himself.

And finally:

5. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger.

catcher-in-the-rye.jpg

Although this is an American classic, there’s just something about this novel that just doesn’t attract me. It is a novel filled with angst and isolation, relating to a teenage audience. Holdon, the protagonist, becomes a symbol of rebellion, and this grates on me. His character development is empty and stunted. He acts as though he is an underprivileged  boy who doesn’t belong in prep school, when in reality if that’s where his parents are able to send him, he does belong. He isolates himself, he misbehaves and gets expelled from numerous schools, and then is embodied as a character that teenagers can relate to.This irritates me to no end.

And that’s all! My 5 worst books. I can’t say too much about these without it turning into a rambling mess, but I’d love to hear your opinions! Do you disagree with my choices? If you do why? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

